Article Index

The Municipality of General Mariano Alvarez, Cavite originally comprises the resettlement areas of the National Housing Authority in Barangays  San Jose, San Gabriel and a portion of  Cabilang Baybay.   San Jose consist of 2 areas A & B while San Gabriel – C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J and K.  By  an  ordinance passed by the Provincial Government of Cavite in General Mariano Alvarez (GMA) and recommended by the municipal officials headed by Mayor LEONISO G. VIRATA, the whole General Mariano Alvarez (GMA)  was divided into 27 barangays all named after revolutionary leaders and followers of General Mariano Alvarez,  all upon suggestions made by Governor JUANITO R. REMULLA, a referendum was held affirming the creation of twenty seven (27) barangays. On March 25, by virtue of legislative and administrative act a referendum was held creating twenty seven (27) duly constituted barangays out of the original ten (10) barangays comprising the resettlement area. And on June 27, 1985 a mass oath-taking of barangay officials for the 27 barangays was held.
Philippine National Railways Commuter trains which makes approximately thirteen (13) trips to General Mariano Alvarez, and its station located at Barangay Nicolasa Virata, provide alternative model access to the town, until later on various means of transportation were used by the residents.
As the current administration steered the Municipality of General Mariano Alvarez to full development and upliftment this Comprehensive Land Use Plan shall serve as guide and blueprint to ensure that the Mission, Vision and Goals of the Government and its constituents are achieved within the planning period and beyond.
And now, GMA is a developed community through the untiring efforts of our Municipal Officials, and the leadership  of Hon. WALTER D. ECHEVARRIA. JR. Municipal Mayor, General Mariano Alvarez.